Home  |  Welcome  |  Student Life  |  Academics   Financial Aid   Admissions  |  Athletics

Alumni Teacher of the Year Award


The Warren K. and Helen J. Garner Alumni Teacher of the Year award honors a Manchester University teacher education alumnus/alumnae who is currently active in classroom teaching in preschool through grade 12, who:

  • has made significant contributions to education
  • provides exceptional service to the profession
  • is deeply concerned for the individual students
  • is able to inspire learning. 

Nominate a Manchester University alumnus/alumna for Teacher of the Year


Paige Keim ’95, a 4th-grade teacher at Milford Elementary School in northern Indiana, is Manchester University’s 2013 Warren K. and Helen J. Garner Alumni Teacher of the Year.

“This selfless individual is one of the most loving and engaged educators I have ever had the honor to teach with,” says MU education major Drew Graber ’13 of Goshen, Ind. Read more >


Warren K. and Helen J. Garner Alumni Teacher of the Year honorees:



Ryan S. Evans '07

2013 Paige Keim ’95 elementary
2012 Kacina Peters ’06 Pfeiffer elementary
2011 Connie Hicks ’74 Pipher elementary
2010 Portia Price ’86 Coe elementary
2005 Phil Sheets '71 '75
Pam Nussbaum Sheets '72 '75
third grade
2003 David McKenzie ’83 English and speech
2001 Beth Jones ’85 elementary
2000 Michael Hummer ’72 elementary
1999 Daniel Tyree ’76 English and speech
1997 Kermit Eby III '80 social studies
1995 Dean Beery ’65 fourth grade
1994 Robert Harkness ’68 third grade
1993 Kay Browning ’68 Sponseller English
1992 Larry Baker ’62 language arts and drama
1991 Nelda Brandeberry ’55 Snider home economics
1990  Joann Fisher ’54 Owen third grade
1989  Glen Dillman ’69 social studies
1988  Ruth Brown ’40 Brubaker

  Manchester University | 604 E. College Ave. | North Manchester, Indiana 46962 | 800-852-3648 | admitinfo@manchester.edu