Manchester University



Advanced Search


Manchester University Archives and Brethren Historical Collection


Full listing > Accession MC2002/140
Accession #MC2002/140
TopicIkenberry Award
TitleIkenberry Award Records
Size1 File
LocationMC General File: Ikenberry Award
CitationIkenberry Award Records, MC2002/140, Archives and Church of the Brethren Collection, Funderburg Library, Manchester University, North Manchester, Indiana.
AccessResearchers are responsible for determining copyright status of archived materials where this is relevant to their intended use of the materials.
Scope and Content

Award in honor of L.D. Ikenberry, former treasurer and former acting president of Manchester College.

  • Nomination materials, lists of recipients, and some pictures.
  • 1989 Centennial responses from awardees regarding career, interests, and photo, with a statement about what the award had meant to them. 

List of L. D. Ikenberry Award recipients 1942 - 2016:

Lawrence Wieland (1942), No Awards due to World War II(1943-1946), John Young (1947), Bill Abbs (1948), Robert Haney (1949), James Garber (1950), Warren Garner(1950), William Norris (1951), Roy Rumsey (1952),Dorothy Cripe McCrary (1953), Carol Honeyman Miller(1954), Keith Pontius (1955), Richard Harshbarger (1956), Richard Frantz (1956), Stanley Stokes (1957), RalphNaragon (1958), Rolf Theen (1959), Norman Snyder (1960), Reis Flora (1961), Patrick Mann (1962), Patricia Kelver Klotz(1963), Sandra Sayers Comerford (1964), William Johnson (1965), Robert Scheer (1966), Paul JamesBeam (1967), David Williams (1968), Randall Sowers (1969), Jonathan Wieand(1970), Bradley Byer (1971), Karen Zimmerman (1972), David Haist (1973), JohnGilmore (1974), John Wendel (1975), Gary Hoipkemier (1976), Garen Bushong(1977), Edwin Cable (1978), Darcy Carpenter Morton (1978), Randall Wilcox(1978),Janice Sharkey Wilcox (1979), John Kirksey (1980), Randall Miller(1980), Scott Martin (1981), David McFadden (1982),James Evans (1983), BrianKarst (1984), Vickie Flaugh Mowery (1985), Robin Horvath (1985), TimothyAirgood (1986),Mona Gilbert McCauley (1987), Debra Steffel Vitoux (1987), LauraYoung (1988), Cynthia Croy (1989), Aaron Hubbard (1990), Kelly Coulter (1991),Karen Bull (1992), Sara Ludington (1993), Rossen Patzov (1994),  Kerry Bathrick (1994), Janae Flora (1995), TimothyKeaffaber (1995), Jennifer Rice (1996), Jonathon Emenhiser (1997), Elizabeth Thornsbury (1998), Molly Woodhouse (1999),Tricia Filbrun (2000), Karen Davis (2001), Rone Davis (2002), Andrew Liszewski (2003), Oleg Ivashchenko (2004), MollyKurtz (2005), Cheryl Miller (2006), James Tyner (2007), Margaret Smith (2008), Stephanie Taylor (2009), JanelBarsich (2010), Kristen Bowen (2011), Maria Neff (2012), Matthew Mest (2013), Felicia Grossman (2014), Kyle Lahman(2015), Skyler Shortt (2016).

Photographs of recipients, a picture of the 1989 Centennial Award board, and pictures removed from the award board, were removed from Small Box 28 (File Folder #34) and are now located in the MC General File with the Ikenberry Award folder [MC2002/140].

See Also: Faculty/Staf,f Ikenberry, L. D. MC2002/104k and MU2012/117photographs.

Date of AccessionUnknown
Bio History Note

As part of Manchester College's Centennial Celebration, the Economics and Business Department planned on featuring the winners of the L. D. Ikenberry Award on the bulletin board, third floor of the Administration Building.  By 20 January 1989 fifty graduates had received this honor.  A letter was sent to each awardee from Lola Sanger, Associate Professor Emerita of Business requesting (1) a current wallet-size photo (2) biographical data on career and current interests (3) statement on what the L. D. Ikenberry Award meant to "you."

The award is in honor of L.D. Ikenberry, former treasurer (for over 40 years) and former acting president of Manchester College (one interim year). It is given to a senior at Manchester College (University) who best exemplifies the ideals of L. D. Ikenberry. It is considered one of the highest awards in the Economics and Business Department.  Criteria is as follows:

Leadership among students.

Extent of acceptance among students.

Cooperation for common good in school life.

Originality and contribution made to school and fellow students.

Archivist Note

Date of Accession: Unknown.

Description prepared 28 August 2002 by Sara L. Smith and updated 25 January 2017 by Mindy Martynowicz, Tonya Moyer, and edited by Jeanine Wine.


Manchester University • 604 E. College Ave., North Manchester, Ind. 46962 • 260-982-5000