Education & Social Sciences

The Peggy Seigel Writing Competition

Update on Peggy Seigel Writing Competition September 11, 2017

For the past four academic years, Manchester University professor Katherine Tinsley coordinated the Peggy Seigel Writing Competition to encourage undergraduate students to research little known areas of Indiana history. Since 2013, we received submissions from outstanding students representing eleven Indiana colleges and universities.

Papers have uncovered new areas such as the service of Indiana women in World War I and the Vietnam War and the integration of Crispus Attucks High School.

Students of winning papers have received monetary awards and their work has been posted on the competition’s website. Katherine’s oversight and commitment to excellence made all this possible.

Tragically, this past June Professor Tinsley died in an automobile accident. Those of us who worked with Katherine and served as competition judges share my deep gratitude for her vision, her love for Indiana history, and her professional competence. While mourning her loss, we feel confident that undergraduates will continue to explore new areas of Indiana history. We would like to think that our competition has helped in some way to kindle new research and new passions. We have been honored by support from across Indiana and by this opportunity.

My deepest appreciation to Katherine Tinsley, Manchester University, Fort Wayne friends and participating students and faculty mentors for four successful years!

Peggy Seigel, Santa Fe, New Mexico

The Peggy Seigel Writing Competition, held annually from 2014 to 2017, was created to reward Indiana undergraduate students for original writing using archival sources related to Indiana history. Made possible by Peggy Siegel, historian and author, the competition awarded students who exhibited excellence in research and writing with $1,000 each year for the first place winner and $300 each for three additional honorable mentions. While the competition is no longer held, we celebrate the works of these past award winners.

2017 Winner Essays

First Place:
Christina Kovats “Indiana’s Magdalene Laundry” Paper
Higher Education Program, Indiana Women’s Prison, Indianapolis
Faculty sponsor Kelsey Kauffman e-mail
Honorable Mentions:
Noah Sandweiss “Outcasts of all Nations:  The Rise and Decline of French and Indian Relations in the American Midwest 1665-1851”  Paper
Indiana University Department of History e-mail
Haley Steinhilber “Insight into the Hoosier Ku Klux Klan:  The Fiery Cross and Indiana Newspapers of the 1920s” Paper
Manchester University Peace Studies Institute  Katy Gray Brown e-mail and Sam Torgerson e-mail
Molly Whitted and Michelle Williams, “Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis of the Initial Cohort of Girls at the Indiana Reformatory Institution for Women and Girls” Paper
Faculty sponsor Kelsey Kauffman

2016 Winner Essays

Emily Lyon
Liz Hilt
Claire Crane
Soren Rasmussen

2015 Winner Essays

Leeann Sausser
Katie Martin
Rachel Fulk
Claire Crane  

2014 Winner Essays

Rebecca Cunningham
Sara Elaine Jackson
Abigail Neuman
Kristine Ruhl