Education & Social Sciences

The Peggy Seigel Writing Competition

2016 Winners

Emily Lyon received the $1000 first prize. She is a senior at Indiana University in Bloomington where she worked under the direction of Prof. Eric Sandweiss. Her winning paper, "’All Quiet on the Miscatatuck’: Finding Information in Rural Indiana during the Civil War," is available through this link.

Elizabeth “Liz” Holt
received the $500 second prize for her paper, “‘The Way to Go is to Integrate’: The Politics of Integration at Crispus Attucks High School.” She is currently a senior at Marion University. Liz worked with Prof. Max Feller-Kantor there in completing her paper. A link to that paper is available here.

Claire Crane graduated in the spring from Marian University. She entered the competition with a second paper this year. Once again, she won an honorable mention and a $200 prize. She worked with Prof. Mary Ellen Lennon on her paper, “Spaces of Reflection, Refuge, and Reinvention in the Vietnam War: The Karren Mundell Letters.” Claire’s paper is available through this link

Soren Rasmussen also received a $200 honorable mention prize. His paper is entitled, “Race and the Mobility of Capital and Labor in Gary, Indiana,” and he worked on it under the direction of Prof. Elana Passman. Soren graduated from Earlham College last May. His paper is available here.