Class Notes


* As a member of Otho Winger Society, this donor included Manchester in an estate plan or established a deferred gift with the University.


Martha McFadden ’39n Stull of Howard, Ohio, Jan. 10, 2021


Hazel Pulley ’42c Wright of Lynden, Wash, Oct. 26, 2020

Mary Alice Brand ’44 Dick of Fort Wayne, Dec. 27, 2020

Wilmer Eley ’44c of Union City, Ind., Dec. 2, 2020

Edward Hollenberg ’48 of Winamac, Ind., Oct. 19, 2020

Frances Castleman ’49 Baxter of Rochester, Ind., Dec. 31, 2020

Dr. William Gnagey ’49c of Normal, Ill., Nov. 14, 2020

Ellen Dyson ’49 Hostetler of LaGrange, Ind., Nov. 9, 2020

James Weaver ’49 of Deland, Fla., Jan. 11, 2021


Nellie Harsh ’51 Dickenson of Richmond, Va., Oct. 21, 2020

*Max Brand ’52 of North Manchester, Dec. 7, 2020

Lois Shirky ’52 Johnson of Harrisonburg, Va., Dec. 7, 2020

Peggy Voorhees ’52 Skirvin of Syracuse, Ind., June 7, 2020

John Mack ’54 of Greenville, Ohio, Nov. 7, 2020

Phyllis Harms ’55 Pettit of North Manchester, Oct. 13, 2020

Phyllis Yount ’56 Thompson of North Manchester, Nov. 4, 2020

Elaine Royer ’58 Blocher of North Manchester, Nov. 16, 2020

Carolyn Michael ’58 of Logansport, Ind., Nov. 8, 2020

*Dr. Morris Firebaugh ’59 of Sun City Center, Fla., Jan.1, 2021

Elvin Zook ’59 of Chatham, Ill., Nov. 24, 2020. Dr. Zook was a former trustee for Manchester University.


George Franklin “Coach” McKinney ’60 of Fort Wayne, Oct. 30, 2020

Nancy Carper ’62 Peterson of Ligonier, Ind., Dec. 21, 2020

Mary Sue Helstern ’62 Rosenberger of Westerville, Ohio, Oct. 11, 2020

Edward Mahnesmith ’63 of Angola, Ind., Nov. 28, 2020

Priscilla Barlow ’63c Norris of Argos, Ind., Dec. 20, 2020

Mark Wagner ’63c of Greenville, Ohio, Nov. 29, 2020

Donald Frame ’64 of Richland, Wash., Aug. 31, 2020

Juliana Smith ’65 DeGood of Columbia City, Ind., Nov. 28, 2020

Dorothy Green ’65 Heering of Waverly, Iowa, Nov. 26, 2020

Daniel Wade ’65 of New Haven, Conn., May 28, 2020

Patricia Pritchett ’66 of Muncie, Ind., Nov. 1, 2020

DeAnne Conine ’68 Lightner of Lynchburg, Ohio, Oct. 9, 2020


Sandra Parker ’70 Denton of Rochester, Ind., Dec. 5, 2020

Donald Ray Yoder ’70 of Bloomington, Ind., Dec. 26, 2020

Douglas Humphreys ’73 of Boca Raton, Fla., Oct. 2, 2020

Jon Gochenaur ’76 of Shipshewana, Ind., Oct. 13, 2020

Larry Sellers ’76 of Wanatah, Ind., Dec. 20, 2020

Harold Beckwith Jr. ’77 of Gary, Ind., Oct. 24, 2020


Sara Miller ’94 Chonaiew of Wabash, Ind., Oct. 1, 2020

Friends of Manchester

Donald Park of Goshen, Ind., March 16, 2020

Nancy Weimer of Towson, Md., Oct. 19, 2020. Nancy was the spouse of Robert “Bob” Weimer ’52

Class Notes


Wendell Dilling 1Wendell Dilling ’58 has been inducted into the Michigan Senior Olympic (MSO) Hall of Fame. Dilling has been awarded 155 MSO medals during the 18 years he has competed. He also has cycled from California to Maine (3,957 miles!) and worked with others to have bike lanes added to the streets in Midland, Mich.


Glynn Hines ’73 of Fort Wayne is the keynote speaker for the 2021 Martin Luther King Jr. Remembrance and Rededication Ceremony at Manchester University.

Mark Huntington ’76 received the Indiana Athletic Trainers’ Association Professional Excellence Award. He recently retired from Manchester University, where he served as a faculty member and athletic trainer since 1984.


J’nise Ramsey ’93 is working as regional director of network care transitions at Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Noah Smith ’94 is representing District 3 on the Fort Wayne Community School Board.

Kyle Hupfer ’95 joined Taft Law in Indianapolis as partner. He will continue to serve as chair of the Indiana Republican Party, and most recently served as campaign manager for Gov. Eric Holcomb.


Matthew Cates ’06 of Mishawaka, Ind., was named state director of the National High School Strength Coaches Association. Matthew works at Penn High School as the strength and conditioning coach.


Tyler Smith ’10 is working as director of community health at Bon Secours Mercy Health in Lima, Ohio.

Sarah McKinney ’12 Haynes celebrated 10 years with the Indianapolis Indians, where she works as business operations manager.

Justin Weber ’12 of Laotto, Ind., has been named assistant principal at Garrett High School.

Bolanle Oladokun ’17 has been named community development blocks grant program manager for the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs. She previously worked for the Indiana Department of Homeland Security. She earned a master’s degree in strategic leadership and design from the University of Indianapolis.