From the Manchester College Archives

News Release

Learn more about Student Activities

at Manchester College


Melinda Harris receives Senior Leadership Award

from Vice President Beth Sweitzer-Riley


Manchester College honors

its student leaders,

and gives high praise

to senior Melinda Harris


Melinda Harris has made a career of leadership and service – and she hasn’t even graduated from college yet. Harris, a senior social work major who grew up in Bluffton, Ind., has received Manchester College’s highest award for leadership.

Harris “leads by example in everything she does,” said Vice President for Student Development Beth Sweitzer-Riley in presenting Harris with the Senior Leadership Award during an April 30 ceremony. “During her four years at Manchester College, Melinda has made a career of leadership and service to the campus community and to the surrounding area.”

Rebecca C. Wheaton of Orland, Ind., received the Outstanding Student Leader Award for her contributions to campus activities in the current school year.

Harris was among 26 students nominated by MC faculty and staff for the award, which recognizes a senior leader who has contributed significantly to the quality of student life during his or her time at Manchester College. Harris is a graduate of Bluffton High School, although her parents have since moved to Celina, Ohio.

“I have been fortunate to be part of one of the many activities that prove that Manchester College has many opportunities for students willing to be involved on campus,” said Harris. Her MC leadership resume is extensive, from her recent presidency of the Manchester Activity Council, to leadership roles for East Residence Hall, Camp Mack Day, Student Government Association and Indiana Reading Corps.

She will start work in September on a master’s degree in social work at Denver University in Colorado, concentrating on high-risk youth, with certification in trauma-related therapy.

Other seniors nominated for the Senior Leadership Award: Natalie Aschenbrenner of Niles, Mich., Laura Beutler of Roann, Ind., Steven Boyer of Bourbon, Ind., Amy Brouse of Union City, Ind., Aaron Cook of North Manchester, Ind., Quanni Franklin of Indianapolis, Anne Griffey of Shelbyville, Ind., Hikmat Hamed, Allison Haynes of Michigan City, Ind., James Hike of Syracuse, Ind., Kirby Jasper of Franklin Grove, Ill., Sarah Malooley of Marion, Iowa, Tiffany Maple of Greentown, Ind., Trenton Marsh of Albion, Ind., Myra Martin-Adkins of North Manchester, Ind., Erika-Lorena Martinez of Valparaiso, Ind., Aja Michael of Converse, Ind., Cheryl Miller of LaPorte, Ind., Emily Quandt of New Haven, Ind., Sarah Reed of Mishawaka, Ind., Jaren Schroeder, Joshua Sigler of Tipton, Ind., Jacelle Stevens of Berne, Ind., Gabriel Tribbett of Idaville, Ind., and Rebecca Welker of Frankton, Ind..

Rebecca Wheaton, a graduate of Prairie Heights Community High School, was nominated by her peers for the Outstanding Student Leader Award. The junior social work major is current president of the Manchester Activities Council and has worked on Homecoming, Little Sibs Weekend and May Day Weekend.  She is co-captain of the track team, competing in shot put, discus and hammer toss, and is a member of the Social Service Club. “She is determined to make each event a huge success,” said Sweitzer-Riley.

Peers nominated nine other students for the award: junior Stephanie Alva of Medaryville, Ind., senior Natalie Aschenbrenner of Niles, Mich., senior Lauren Bailey of Ogden Dunes, Ind., junior Katie Crosby of Monticello, Ind., senior Mary-Lu Garcia Gonzalez of Xalapa, Mexico, senior Allison Haynes of Michigan City, Ind., junior Jessica Hicks of Wawaka, Ind., sophomore David Walton of Rising Sun, Ind., and junior Angela Wilcox of Etna Green, Ind.

At the ceremony, the Residence Hall Association and Student Government Association honored the Manchester Activities Council as Organization of the Year, and MAC’s Little Siblings Weekend and May Day Weekend with Program of the Year awards.

Member of the Year is Allison Haynes of Michigan City, Ind., for her extraordinary dedication and sense of service to the group and college community. Advisor of the Year is Jennifer Vincent, campus director of student activities.

Manchester Media Relations

News Releases

Mission Statement




















Rebecca Wheaton receives Outstanding Student Leader Award from Vice President Beth Sweitzer-Riley