From the Manchester College Archives

News Release


Manchester Symphony Orchestra performs

old masters Sunday, March 7 at the college

NORTH MANCHESTER, Ind. (March 1, 2004) The Manchester Symphony Orchestra will perform the compositions of classical masters on Sunday, March 7 and present pianists Sarah Miller and Debora E. DeWitt as solo performers and conductors.

The 50-member community orchestra is comprised of Manchester College students, faculty and staff and residents of the area. The conductor is Robert G. Jones, associate professor of music/woodwinds. The March 7 performance begins at 3 p.m. in Cordier Auditorium, on the Manchester College campus.  General admission is $5, with students and senior citizens admitted free.

The program includes Johann Sebastian Bach's "Concerto for Two Pianos in C, BWV 1061" Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's "Symphony No. 40 in G minor" and Jean Berger's "Divertissement for String Orchestra."

Debora DeWitt is chair of the Music Department at Manchester College and has performed with the Manchester Symphony Orchestra in Michigan and Indiana. She also earned a master's and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University. Her original compositions have been performed by MSO, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.  The college's A Cappella Choir has performed her original compositions in Carnegie Hall and will perform them on an upcoming spring tour of cathedrals in Italy, including in the Vatican.

Sarah Miller teaches piano, theory and composition at the MacPhail Center for Music in Minneapolis. She holds a bachelor's in humanities, a master's in piano performance and a Ph.D. in music composition from Michigan State University. She was 1996 Teacher of the Year of the Lansing Capital Area Music Teacher Association and has performed for the Thursday Musicale Concert Series and the MacPhail Artists Series in the Twin Cities.




Manchester Media Relations

News Releases

Mission Statement