Manchester University
Oak Leaves

May 10, 2019

Chloe Arndt oak leaves awards 2019

Left to right: Dr. Ings, Kaity Collins, Noah Tong, Caraline Feairheller, Carly Kwiecien, Erin Brock, Destinee Boutwell and Marcus Zwiebel.

Photo provided by Chloe Arndt

Students Receive Awards at Indiana Collegiate Press Association Conference

Oak Leaves Staff


Four students received awards at this year’s Indiana Collegiate Press Association Conference:

First Place, Best News or Feature Series: Kaity Collins: “January Session Travel Series” 
The judge: “Excellent, clear writing. That missile alert alone... wow! Way to localize a big story.”

Second Place, Best Non-Deadline News Story: Erin Brock: “Día de los Muertos Exhibition to Help MU Community Become Culturally Aware”  
The judge: “She brought a coffin to campus. There’s a sentence you don’t read every day. Nice job covering a creative approach to learning. Your story would have benefitted from student quotes.”

Third Place, Best Opinion Column: Marcus Zwiebel: “Parking NOT a Problem”  
The judge: “The writer provides answers and reasoned opinions on an issue of campus-wide concern. Excellent closing paragraph.”

Second Place, Best Feature Photo: Caraline Feairheller: “Fort Wayne Chinese Families and Friends Association performs a traditional Chinese dance in beautiful garments during the International Fashion Show”  
The judge: “With a true photojournalist’s eye, the photographer captures a memorable moment from an evening of fast-paced action. This image instantly telegraphs to the viewer the meaning and impact of the event.”