In the News

Manchester celebrates undergraduate student leaders

NORTH MANCHESTER, Ind. – Manchester University offers rich experiences where students grow, lead and make a real difference. This spring, the Student Experience Leadership Banquet celebrated determined leaders who have demonstrated compassion, dedication and caring.

Lucas Al-Zoughbi (left) and Zander WilloughbyThe Outstanding Student Leader of the Year Award recognizes students who have distinguished themselves as leaders, contributing significantly to the quality of University activities and/or services throughout the 2015-2016 school year. The award, which signifies that the student has been a model of citizenship while demonstrating creativity and energy that has broadly benefited student life, was given to:

  • Lucas Al-Zoughbi, peace studies and psychology major from South Bend, Ind.
  • Zander Willoughby, political science and French major from Wyoming, Mich.

The Capstone Outstanding Senior Leadership Award recognizes a student who has contributed significantly to the quality of campus life throughout their years at Manchester. The award signifies that the student has been a model of citizenship – displaying balance between personal qualities, leadership in campus activities/services and academic success. This year’s winner is:

  • Caniece Leggett, a psychology major from Columbus, Ind.

The Faith in Action Award is presented from the Office of Religious Life to a student who has contributed in significant ways to Religious Life/Campus Ministry programs and who has put their faith into action at the University and in the larger community in tangible ways.

  • Hannah FieldHannah Field is a senior accounting major from Fort Wayne, Ind., and was Outstanding Student Leader of the Year last spring. She helped resurrect the MU Fellowship of Christian Athletes, serving as co-president and lifting others to leadership positions. She worked as a student assistant in the Financial Services office, a tutor in accounting for the Success Center and a Writing Center assistant for the Accounting and Business Department. She has been a member of the College Business Club and served as vice president of the Manchester Activities Council. 

Volunteer Service Awards

  • Caniece Leggett, activities include Blessings in A Backpack, Student Experience and Residential Life student assistant, president of Black Student Union.  She served as a Student Orientation Leader, was a Students Today Alumni Tomorrow member and aided in Project Hope. 
  • Emily Vanhorn, sophomore elementary education major from Greenville, Ohio; activities include Kenapocomoco Coalition, Blessings in a Backpack, Community Dinner, Hall Counsel, Simply Brethren, Student Education Association, Residence Hall Association and Yoga Club. Emily serves on the board of directors at One World Hand Crafts.  She is a committed volunteer, regularly helping with Blessings in a Backpack and assisting with the Manchester Community Dinners.
  • Delaney McKesson, first-year social work major from Mishawaka, Ind.; activities include Student Orientation Leader, vice president of Social Service Club, volunteer tutor and mentor for Indiana Reading Corps.

Caniece Leggett (left) and Salwa NubaniMulticultural Awards

The Luminescence Award is the highest award a student can receive from the Office of Multicultural Affairs.  Luminescence, by definition, is the emission of light as a result of the excitation of atoms of energy other than heat.  Those receiving this award demonstrate the highest moral and ethical character, coupled with demonstrated academic achievement and community involvement: 

  • Caniece Leggett
  • Salwa Nubani, a biology-chemistry major from Ramallah, Palestine.

The Scholastic Achievement Award is earned by members of the Manchester community associated with the Office of Multicultural Affairs who will graduate with a grade point average of at least a 3.0 and have made significant contributions to the multicultural community at MU. 

  • Daijah Asumang, an accounting major from Indianapolis, has accepted a position as a staff auditor with Ernst & Young. 
    Sara Cruz, an accounting major from Fort Wayne, Ind., has accepted a position with RSM US LLP (formerly McGladrey & Pullen).
  • Martin Garcia, a chemistry major from LaPorte, Ind., intends to pursue a doctorate degree and has been accepted at several prestigious universities.
  • Jaspreet Kaur, a biology-chemistry major from Fort Wayne, Ind., is exploring her options between seeking a professional degree in dentistry or pursuing a master’s degree in pharmacogenomics at Manchester University.
  • Caniece Leggett has been accepted into the master of occupational therapy program at the University of Illinois Chicago.
  • Vasin Pasda, an economics major from Surin, Thailand, has been accepted into the doctoral program in economics at Western Michigan University.

The Emerging Light Award distinguishes a first-year or sophomore student who is lighting the Manchester community on fire with energy, drive and passion. This award also recognizes the essence and the potential of making a lasting impression on faculty, staff and fellow students in diversity efforts.

  • Darian Hahn, a first-year student from Elkhart, Ind.
  • Sean Patton, a first-year student from Merrillville, Ind.

Julio LuevanoSuccess Center Student Achievement Award

The Success Center Student Achievement Award recognizes a student who regularly uses the Success Center services to realize their highest potential. This student embodies the true meaning of success:  persistence, determination and dedication.  

  • Julio Luevano, a senior majoring in exercise science and fitness, of North Manchester and a native of Aguascalientes, Mexico

Student Government Association Awards

  • Organization of the Year:  Black Student Union
  • Program of the Year:  Taste of Africa, African Student Association  
  • Member of the Year: Caniece Leggett, Black Student Union
  • Advisor of the Year:  North Manchester residents Jim Brumbaugh-Smith, Ballroom and Latin Dance Club; and Michael Dixon, Black Student Union

Residential Life Awards

  • Hall of the Year: Schwalm Hall
  • Floor of the Year: Schwalm Hall, 1st Floor
  • Hall Council of the Year: Schwalm Hall Council
  • Program of the Year: East Hall resident assistants for Punch a Robot
  • Hall Director of the Year: Letha Parrott
  • Resident Assistant of the Year: Tate Wooding, a political science major from LaPorte, Ind.

The banquet offered a remembrance of the late Tony Loera, Nerad Mangai, Brook Dagnew and Kirubel Hailu.

Manchester University, with campuses in North Manchester and Fort Wayne, is one of six colleges across the nation grounded in the values and traditions of the Church of the Brethren. The University offers more than 60 areas of academic study to 1,500 students in undergraduate programs, a Master of Science in Pharmacogenomics, Master of Athletic Training and a four-year professional Doctor of Pharmacy.  Learn more about the private, northern Indiana school at

May 2016