About Manchester

In the News

Zeglis leads Manchester University Board of Trustees

John ZeglisJohn D. Zeglis of Culver, Ind., began Jan. 1 as president of the Manchester University Board of Trustees.

He is the retired president of AT&T and former chairman and CEO of AT&T Wireless after its IPO and spinoff from AT&T. Zeglis was a founder of the NBA D-League Fort Wayne Mad Ants basketball team.

 “We appreciate the extraordinary leadership skills and knowledge John brings to the board,” said Manchester President Dave McFadden. “His insights and those of Randy Brown have been invaluable as we meet today’s challenges and plan for the years ahead.”

Zeglis replaces Brown, whose term ended Dec. 31. He is managing partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP in Fort Wayne.

The new board president was on the leadership cabinet for the Students First! campaign, which concluded in 2014 and raised $100 million for the University. It blew by that goal, raising $108.7 million a full 18 months ahead of schedule.

Manchester welcomes three alumni to the board in 2017:

  • Sara Edgerton ’70 was previously on the board from 2004 to 2013.  She is co-founder and CEO of Community Cancer Care, based in Indianapolis.
  • James Lambert ’75 of Indianapolis is systems administrator at AT&T. He is a longtime supporter of the Alumni of Color Scholarship at Manchester.
  • Stephen Reid ’73 of Waco, Texas, is a professor of Christianity at Baylor University’s George W. Truett Theological Seminary. Dr. Reid is ordained in the Church of the Brethren. He was interim pastor at the Fremont Church of the Brethren in Fremont, Calif., and Saint Paul Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Austin, Texas. He has served on the Bethany Seminary board of trustees. He served as associate pastor at Austin Mennonite Church.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of 31 members who serve two consecutive five-year terms.

Board members also include Paris Ball-Miller ’81, Jim Colon ’74, Ding-Jo Currie ’75, Susan Fitze ’69, Lisa Ford, John W. Gilmore ’74, Patricia S. Grant, John J.  Haines ’85, Carolyn Hardman ’61, Mary Haupert ’71, Scott Hullinger ’92, Kyle Hupfer ’95, Ruthann K. Johansen ’64, Allen R. Kahler ’93, Joel D. Kline, Linda Kroll ’93 ’94ma, James H. Lambert ’75, Pedro F. Larco ’94, Dave McFadden ’82, Madalyn Metzger ’99, Rick Mishler ’74, Michael Packnett, Eugene F.  Roop ’64, Mark Rosenbury ’69, Larry Rowland, Matthew J. Sprunger ’78, Richard P.Teets and Kent L.  Zimmerman ’74.

The honorary trustees are David A. Haist ’73, William N. Harper ’66, Marsha Palmer ’68 Link, Rufus B. King ’67 and J. Bentley Peters ’62.

With 1,600 students at its campuses in North Manchester and Fort Wayne, Manchester University respects the infinite worth of every individual, promotes responsible citizenship and puts high value on service. It calls on the diverse faiths of its community members to make the world a kinder and better place, establish justice and build peace amid strife.  It has students from 20 nations. Learn more about the private, northern Indiana school at www.manchester.edu.

January 2017

Note: An apostrophe followed by two digits after a name denotes that the individual graduated from Manchester in that year. It follows the name of the student at the time of graduation.