In the News

Manchester honors Keim, Marlatt at Celebrate Education Ceremony

2022 Alumni of the YearThe Harry H. Henney ’35 and Jeanette Henney Department of Education at Manchester University honored two alumni with Warren K. and Helen J. Garner awards at its end-of-year Celebrate Education Ceremony.

The department announced the Alumni Teacher of the Year, Michelle Keim. She graduated from Manchester in 2005 with degrees in both elementary education and French.

Currently, Keim teaches social studies and reading to sixth graders at Alain Locke Charter Academy in Chicago as a national board-certified teacher and a senior fellow for the Chicago Foundation for Education Action Research Leadership Institute.

The department also announced the Alumni Educational Studies Professional of the Year, Leslie Marlatt. She is a 2013 Manchester graduate with a bachelor’s degree in educational studies. She is assistant director of success advising at Manchester and this spring stepped into the role of co-advisor for the Student Education Association. She also supports the department as supervisor of educational studies internships.

Outstanding Future Educators 2022Two graduating seniors, Anna Ousley and Drew Gavit, were recognized as Outstanding Future Educators by the Indiana Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (IACTE).

They are among teaching candidates from across the state who were recognized by their institutions for their excellence and passion in education.   

The department also chose five students for Spartan Awards as shining examples of the Spartan spirit:  Rebecca Colbert, Daisy Hernandez-Lopez, Brianna Mendenhall, Ellisston Ross and Caroline Thompson. 

The celebration featured the Pinning Ceremony, a symbolic way of welcoming senior education majors into the field of education. Each senior invited a guest who had played an integral part in their development as an adult and professional; the guest placed a special education pin on the senior’s lapel.

These seniors are McKinley Adams, Miranda Beighler, Kaitlyn Burger, Rebecca Colbert, Megan Engelhardt, Haley Fellabaum, Drew Gavit, Maria Hayward, Kaitlynd Heiden-Moore, Logan Hochstetler, Darren Lathrop, Jalen Masden, Erica Mohr, Connie Nelson, Dylan Olson, Anna Ousley, Madison Shepard, Elizabeth Smith, Sadie Spencer, Joshua Stephenson, Jeffrey Tsang, Noah Vanhorn and Zachary White.

For the media
For more information, contact Dr. Heather Schilling, director of teacher education and professor of education,
More about the Harry H. Henney ’35 and Jeanette Henney Department of Education

Information compiled by Tiffany Williams, academic intern in communications and media relations.

Manchester University, with campuses in North Manchester and Fort Wayne, Ind., provides vibrant and transformative student experiences. Learn more at

Our mission: Manchester University respects the infinite worth of every individual and graduates persons of ability and conviction who draw upon their education and faith to lead principled, productive, and compassionate lives that improve the human condition.

May 2022