Realizing the Dream



ICI Realizing the Dream

from Independent Colleges of Indiana

Realizing the Dream is a program that acknowledges first-generation college students for outstanding achievement in their freshman year and are now in their sophomore year. It has been funded by the Lilly Endowment Inc. since 1989. The program was conceived and developed by three individuals who had themselves been first-generation college students — Dr. William C. Bonifield, then Vice-President for Education, Lilly Endowment, and now retired Director of McDermond Center for Management and Entrepreneurship, Depauw University; Mr. William DuBois Jr., then President of the Independent Colleges and Universities of Indiana, and now retired Executive Assistant for Public Relations, Ivy Tech Community College; and Dr. Louis C. Gatto, then the retiring President of Marian College (University), and the former Executive Director of the Indiana Educational Facilities Authority.

Each selected student receives a $4,000 scholarship, and they are asked to name an inspiring teacher (elementary or secondary) that most influenced their decision to attend college. The nominated teacher receives a $1,000 Professional Development Grant. In addition, there is a banquet held in Indianapolis to honor the student and their selected teacher. Family members are also encouraged to attend.

2023 Recipient Manchester University

Kyle Newcomb, a first-generation college student at Manchester, has been awarded a “Realizing the Dream” scholarship from the Independent Colleges of Indiana. 
He is a sophomore from North Manchester, Indiana, majoring in Criminology and Psychology.
Watch his video from ICI. 

Allred 2019


2023    Kyle Newcomb
2022    Erica Ortiz
2021    Valeria Jimenez
2020    Heather Binion
2019    Elizabeth Allred
2018    Kayla Carver
2017    Haley Farris
2016    Joshua Holmes
2015    Bradley Williams
2014    Heather DeLorenzo